Thread: Dust collection questions.

Dust collection questions.

How effective are the dust collection systems? Are any really very effective for a lathe?

I am new to turning. I turn in a pretty large two car garage and dust gets all over the place even very far away- 25 feet. I guess much of it is produced when I power sound without oiling the pieces as some people do. I am not worried about the shavings which I sweep up and I wear a dust mask.

I have an old one horsepower PSI system with a filter bag and a pre-filter thing into a garbage can. I had initially used just the 4 inch hose as an intake and then switched to a big gulp hood but did not seem to have enough suction for it so now use a smaller hood next to the turning. But still dust everywhere. I can see when I power sand, the dust going into the air and not being sucked up.

Would a two horsepower canister system with a big gulp hood near the turning suck in much more of the dust? If people thing this would work, what brand would they recommend? What else do you recommend if this will not work or is there really no great solution? Are the canister systems much better than the filter bags?

Also, should I leave an external door open when turning for more airflow? I do not have the lather near the garage door or the other external door so I cannot just blow everything out.

Thanks for the help, David

I use a large shop vac with a 2 or 2.5" hose (can't remember offhand). When positioned close to the workpiece, it's very effective at sucking up the dust. I'm not sure if the advantage comes from the distance from the end of the hose (a few inches) or the higher air speed from the smaller hose, but it really works well.

I don't think most dust collectors have the power to effectively catch dust from large hoods or long distances from the mouth of the hose.

I think the DC is more important for sanding than turning but that's me. Getting an air filtration system is a good investment.
    Don