Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Some types of steel undrillable?

Some types of steel undrillable?

New to metal working, bear with me.

I am modifying some brackets and have found to my surprise that I can't drill holes in some of them. I am using a powerful hand power drill and HSS bits, (these ones http://www.screwfix.com/p/dewalt-3mm...ack-of-2/30294)

Are there types of steel that are impossible to drill into?

I'm drilling into 2mm stainless steel for example. And my drill barely marks it. Then I use the same tools on a 2mm sheet metal and go through easily.

What don't I know?

I am a strictly amateur metal worker but I do machine and make things out of various metals. Some types of stainless steel drive me crazy - they quickly dull metal-cutting saw blades and drill bits can't touch them. Others stainless steels are manageable. I'm afraid I don't know my stainless alloys and when I run into a problem I try another type of bit, cobalt or solid carbide, for example.

As for other types of impossible steel, yes, hardened high-carbon or tool steel is impossible to drill. It's like trying to drill into a file. One thing to do for hardened (non-stainless) steel is to anneal it with heat, drill, then re-harden if needed.

Another way to cut holes in any kind of steel is with a plasma cutter. That's what I reach for when cutting stainless steel plate - mine will cut up to about 1/2" like a hot knife through butter. If the holes you need don't have to be precise, someone with a plasma cutter could burn some in a few minutes. Water jet will cut stainless too but that's way out of my league.

JKJ

Yes, there are some kinds of stainless steel that work-harden. These are, generally, austenitic stainless steels, which is mostly the 3xx series of stainless steels. The most common alloys will be 302, 304, 308, 316 stainless.