Thread: Cheap 40w Chinese laser from eBay

Cheap 40w Chinese laser from eBay

I do not own a business that relies on a laser. I just do a couple jobs a year where i need to make little name tags and plates out of plastic. I have some experience with a few different laser engravers and Corel over the years but didnt want to invest in purchasing an expensive laser for such little work. So I purchased one of these $400 ebay lasers from china just to see if it would work for what I am looking for.

I am wondering if anyone has one of these, or knows someone who has one? I have mine and set it up and seems to be working. but there are a few questions i have and I am unable to find the answers.

For one, i set my corel page to 300mmx200mm, yet when I print to the engraver it doesnt seem to always start in the top left corner. How do I utilize the entire engraving area? Also, is there a way to setup and save settings for my material? my machine has a turn knob for the power, but im assuming the power will change depending on if i am engraving or cutting and wondering if there is a way to set that in the software rather than the knob which would be difficult to always get back to the same power.

You have to run 2 jobs if you have two different power settings. The knob controls the power on this machine not th e software. So if i had to engrave and a cut i would engrave then run the vector cutting and turn up the knob

Based on previous posts, be careful about how much power you set as it is common for those machines to over-power the tube and ruin it. In my experience, if you do not keep the power to a maximum of 85% of what the tube is rated for (not what the power supply can put out) you wil greatly shorten the tube's life.
    Longtai 460 with 100 watt EFR, mostly for fun. More power is good!! And a shop with enough wood working tools to make a lot of sawdust. Ex-owner of Shenhui 460-80 and engraving business with 45 watt Epilog Mini18.