Thread: shop cabinets

shop cabinets

I'm FINALLY going to rebuild my miter saw station (four years after the move) and, at the same time do something about the jumble of stuff on all the shelves in the shop. I'm planning to build frameless cabinets with all drawers under the saw. The cases will be prefinished 3/4" maple plywood (including the backs), haven't decided what to make the drawers out of yet, probably baltic birch or appleply (3/4" sides, 3/8" or 1/2" bottoms depending on width). It's going to fit between a couple of posts, so I have room for four ~31" cabinets or five ~24" cabinets. Many of the drawers will be used for small parts, fasteners, and hardware; I expect many drawers to be fairly heavily loaded.

I've never done frameless cabinets before. Some of the plans I've seen employ a stretcher between each drawer (mimicking a face frame, it seems), some even a full dust shield. Others just have a completely open front. I'm thinking the stretchers aren't necessary given 3/4" ply construction with the cabinets then screwed together to give 1-1/2" walls to support the shelves Am I missing something?

Any comment on side vs undermount glides? I need full extension and am quite sure I don't want the crappy ones they used on my kitchen cabinets, but not much more than that. (I need to start replacing them as well, several have broken)

Anything else I should be thinking about?