Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Handle Material?

Handle Material?

Hello! My name is Caleb and I am new to this forum. This is my first post. I just have a question about chisel handle material.

I plan to get some new chisels soon (LN bevel edge and Ray Iles mortise) and as I work in a community shop, I want to set mine apart from other people's. I figure the best way to do that is to put a more distinctive wood handle onto my chisels.

I think my current favorite wood for it would be Goncalo Alves and I just wanted to know if any of you have used that for handles before and if it seems like a good choice? Also, if there are any other woods that would hold up and stand out similarly, I'd like to hear about those. I don't work with exotics too much as I am a college student and can't afford large quantities of them so I don't know many of them.

Thanks in advance!
    Caleb

Blog Entries
    Howdy Caleb and welcome to the Creek. Your profile doesn't show your location, where do you call home?

My senses are always a bit cautious about "community" anything. There are too many unpleasant memories of "community" living/working from decades in the past.

If you do not have secure tool storage it might be unwise to bring a good set of chisels or other tools into such an environment.

Many of my tools have been purchased from estates or individuals and can be traced back to being used in a large shop. The usual method in such places was for each worker to have a different color to paint the handles or other parts of their tools. In other cases names or symbols were engraved onto the tool.

The information on the internet about Goncalo Alves seems to indicate it to be a good choice for handles. Handles on socket chisels can be taken off and changed pretty quickly if someone decides they want your chisels.

jtk
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)