Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to DC - any advice is appreicated

New to DC - any advice is appreicated

I am new to dust collection. I have a 20x40 shop and a few tools and would like to get a good system put together. I will plumb the main lines in and use flex hose at the end closest to the tool. I'll probably have a few floor sweeps as well. This is a hobby shop, just getting started, but my goal is to be able to become skilled enough to make a modest supplemental income for my wife and I after I retire in 10 years. Mostly one or two machines at a time. Using saw while one of my children sweeps up, or a few going when I have the scouts over working on projects.

Tools I have
    10" 3hp cabinet saw
    19" 3hp bandsaw
    15" 3hp spiral planer
    Lathe
    8" 3hp spiral jointer

I was looking at a 3HP bag or canister setup, and since the shop is not on heat/ac and for noise reduction I was planning on putting the unit in a small shed attached to the outside of the building to protect from the elements. I would likely put a cyclone collector close too machines that would benefit from it the most - like the planer. I'd just do a garbage can lid style cyclone separator there.

For the discussion I was just looking at the features of these two units on the Grizzly site.
    http://www.grizzly.com/products/G103...campaign=zPage
    http://www.grizzly.com/products/3HP-...campaign=zPage

Is 3HP sufficient? Overkill?
    Since it is outside does the filter (2.5 v 1.0 micron) matter as much?

Being new to dust collection I'd be happy to hear any advice. I have read much on the forum and watched a lot of videos on youtube - however nothing better then fresh candid advice to my particular situation.

Thank you!
    Jason