Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to put together a MASSIVE marquetry panel ?

How to put together a MASSIVE marquetry panel ?

I'm really a novice with marquetry - so this is probably a bit ambitious for me, but I'm obsessed with the idea of doing a HUGE panel. I know I will have to do it all in pieces (probably finished all separately too) - but I"m wondering how I would put it together at the end. (And I'm not sure I'm even in the right forum here . . .). My design is more or less a mosaic . . . but in different size pieces . . . My idea so far was to mount it all in say 2ft sq pieces maybe onto 3mm board which would be laser cut to the pieces of the design and then mounted on the final substrate right at the end like a jigsaw. But I'm sure there would be fairly obvious seams done this way. Any advice will be hugely appreciated ??

Hi Emma,

It would be helpful if you could post a picture of the mosaic and let us know the overall size of the finished piece.......then we might be able to give you some suggestions. Also, how big is your laser bed (or what is the biggest piece you can cut). Are you asking more about assembly of the finished piece or how to set up the cut file in Corel?
    Epilog Mini 24 - 45 Watt, Corel Draw X5, Wacom Intuos Tablet, Unengraved HP Laptop, with many more toys to come.....

If you have an apple and I have an apple and we exchange apples then you and I will still each have one apple. But if you have an idea and I have one idea and we exchange these ideas, then each of us will have two ideas... George B. Shaw

I tend to cheat on "marquetry": I cut the individual pieces from PSA-backed veneer and just start "assembly" in the middle and work out. Admittedly, I don't normally do anything bigger than 24"x48", but as long as none of the individual pieces are bigger than the laser's bed, the limiting factor is pretty much the size of the final substrate.