Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spiral bit and straight bit: redundant?

Spiral bit and straight bit: redundant?

I’m new to routing. Currently, my intended uses are:

- cutting 1/8” or 1/4” wide channels
    - cutting mortises and dados
    - cutting recesses for hardware (example, installing a vice)
    - flush trimming
    - chamfering

So, the bits I’m planning on purchasing are:

- flush trim or pattern bit
    - chamfer bit
    - down or up cut spiral bit

If I have a spiral bit, is there any reason to have a straight bit also?

I used to like spiral bits more but had one incident of a bit that came loose and dug into the wood.
    I posted this happening here and several pros responded. They recommended straight bits if possible because the spiral action sometimes causes unexpected events due to the vertical force; upcuts spiral pulls the bit into the wood.

In smaller sizes, spiral bits will tend to last longer and not break as easily.
    But in 1/2" sizes, straight bits are MUCH cheaper than spiral bits.
    Gerry

JointCAM

Quote Originally Posted by Susumu Mori View Post
    the spiral action sometimes causes unexpected events due to the vertical force; upcuts spiral pulls the bit into the wood.
    Good to know. Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Gerry Grzadzinski View Post
    In smaller sizes, spiral bits will tend to last longer and not break as easily.
    But in 1/2" sizes, straight bits are MUCH cheaper than spiral bits.
    Cool! And for plunging and routing out a mortise, a 1/2" straight will work fine?