Thread: Swedish handplanes

Swedish handplanes

I often see swedish handplanes for sale. They are made as clones of Stanley Bailey planes.
    There are some different brands that mostly look the same. Memo, Ancher, Bison and more. I have never bought one because I have not heard anything about them.

Any of you guys that has experiense with some of them. ?
    Best regards

Lasse Hilbrandt

I have no experience with them. There are a lot of planes that look like the Stanley Bailey plane and are just and good; and others that were made more cheaply and work less well.

If you can get your hands on one to look at, bring a long straight ruler with you, and test the sole for flatness - look, too, right around the mouth, and see if it's hollow there. Then see how the blade movement is (smooth, jerky), and examine the frog that the blade sits on, to make sure it rests on the body of the plane (some cheap planes cantilever the frog out so that it's not resting on the body, leading to chatter. Then try it out on a piece of soft wood.

I had a Memo plane once. It was allright but had a rather thin casting and was generally on the cheap side. I've heard that some models were better, but you would have to know how to tell them apart, and I don't. Memo, which is short for MEtal-MOdeller, also made planes for others.

Bison was a store brand of EPA warehouses known for low prices.

Anchor planes were made by Jernbolaget, and I have a couple of those. Good quality, I don't think you can go wrong with them. Jernbolaget also made planes for others like Ståhls and Hellstedt.

Personally I would go for Anchor, but like Bill said, the best way to decide, is to examine one in person and know what to look for.