Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dueling remotes - Anybody else have this problem?

Dueling remotes - Anybody else have this problem?

I've been setting up my new shop for several months now and am about 80% done. The DC is a Grizzly G0441 3HP cyclone with an infrared remote and has been functional for over a month. The DC is behind a wall but the receiver is mounted on the back wall of my 30 x 30 shop. I recently hung my new Jet AFS-1000B air filter from the ceiling close to a side wall about in the middle of it's length.

Yesterday I turned on the DC with the remote to use my TS and turned it off when I finished. After the DC air noise stopped I realized that the Jet air cleaner was on. Sure enough, either remote control will turn on the DC and the air cleaner. The air cleaner is 11 feet up and it's front, where the infrared pickup is, faces the front of my shop. I know many people think that because infrared is "line of sight" you have to point it directly to work. But a strong signal can bounce or reflect and still be picked up. My TS is rearward of the air cleaner and even though I point the DC remote in the opposite direction the air cleaner will still turn on.

I haven't contacted either manufacturer because I believe they will tell me there is nothing they can do. But I have to believe someone else has had this kind of problem, maybe not with these two exact pieces of equipment though. I actually prefer to have the air cleaner on while I'm working but I don't want it turning off every time I turn off the DC. Any ideas from those of you who may have run into a similar situation would be greatly appreciated.

Blog Entries
    I can think of two solutions:
    1. Put blinders on one or both devices so they can only 'see' the remote from certain directions.
    2. Get into the machines, bypass the IR, and use a different remote like the Long Ranger. Or find an entirely different way to turn one of the machines on and off.