Thread: Jet JJP 12, Very Close to Purchase, Need Help on Potential Table Removal

Jet JJP 12, Very Close to Purchase, Need Help on Potential Table Removal

Hi All,

I could use a hand and this seems like a pretty good place to ask for one. :-) I'm a relative newbie to woodworking and have been fiddling around in my little shop for a few years. I'm very close to purchasing a Jet JJP 12 (I've read reviews and such 'till blue in the face), but need help with the idea of removing the tables. I saw postings by both Curt Harm and Fred Vorhees, both of which I think have done that. (It's a basement shop with a flight of steps that turns 90 degrees in the middle - UGH).

Two things...I would really like to actually speak with someone that lives relatively nearby (I'm in Denville, NJ) to discuss their experience with the machine, and two, perhaps come and see it. (I'll bring beer :-)

Anyone out there that can help?

Sorry to call out Fred and Curt, but you guys seem to have already been through this effort and I would really appreciate your insights.

Thanks!

Regards,
    Paul

Fred is in Ringoes' NJ and Curt is just over the river in Doylestown. Perhaps you can actually hook up with one of them, Paul. Both are great guys.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Couple of most not relevant comments

• I think that you can update your profile to indicate the location (I do see that you state it in your post).
    • Drink the beer AFTER playing with the equipment.
    • never used one, bug I seriously considered getting one

That said, a few links that you have probably already seen

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...ar-Adjustments
    http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...-Jointer-Setup
    http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...JP-12-a-review

Also, you can download the manual here:
    http://www.jettools.com/us/en/p/jjp-...ph-230v/708475

and.....

Welcome to the Creek!