Thread: Spalted Pecan--a special bowl

Cuero, Texas--Not too far from the third coast.

Spalted Pecan--a special bowl

Not long ago I was asked if I would donate one of my "creations" as a silent auction item for a little fella (son of one of my daughter's teammates & friend) who was diagnosed with a lymphoma--he's all of 2.
    Anyway, I had a Pecan blank that was spalted & pretty punky that I'd started on and wasn't sure that I'd have enough left to make bowl after shaping, smoothing, reinforcing (CA of course), sanding, and smoothing & oh--did I mention sanding? Didn't realize that Pecan was as subject to grubs--now I know, had a lot of inlay to do. Chose the blue because of the contrast, think it turned out well. It was such an imperfect piece of wood for a perfect cause.
    Looks nice--but I'm my own toughest critic. Still has a small rough spot or two and I'm still learning how to fill other defects that turquoise just isn't the right medium all the time--live & learn
    Bowl is 11.5 x 4.5 inches, finish is poly. (As a side, believe that I'll start using sanding sealer--'cuz spalted Pecan sure "drinks" the finish.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Using Texas woods--especially Mesquite, the "Queen" of woods.

Nice bowl and great cause! You might try coffee grounds as a filler. I don't personally care for turquoise, though many do. The coffee grounds blend with the wood and merely look like dark inclusions. They turn, sand and finish well, too.

That's beautiful, David!

You folks keep showing me work like this and I'm gonna wind up buying a lathe. I've been trying to avoid that (still have Neanderthal hand tools I need)!

Fred

Quote Originally Posted by John Keeton View Post
    Nice bowl and great cause! You might try coffee grounds as a filler. I don't personally care for turquoise, though many do. The coffee grounds blend with the wood and merely look like dark inclusions. They turn, sand and finish well, too.