Thread: Brands; General, Powermatic, Laguna ...oh my!

Brands; General, Powermatic, Laguna ...oh my!

Hi All,

allow me to briefly introduce myself. My name is Marcello and I have been woodworking as a passionate hobby (like many) for the past 17 years. Last year I made a leap and started a bespoke furniture company, in Toronto.

I have always been interested by brand recognition and consistency. I have used General as my go to company for years, but I feel as though they are slowly dwindling. With 2 new upgrades to be made I was looking on opinion for what your opinions are on a few Brands that make a solid line of equipment. I know that no 1 brand makes a perfect line, but I want to know which brand you feel offers the best consistency.

I am looking to upgrade my Table saw to a Professional model 3hp or more.

And my more immediate purchase is for: General15-005s oscillating belt sander. (space is limited so this is the biggest I will go[dimension wise] )

Any opinions and discussions would be appreciated.

regards

I owned a 1970s era Delta Unisaw which I upgraded to a new 1990 Powermatic model 66. In 2005 or so I upgraded that to a Sawstop ICS. I thought the Powermatic was a nice upgrade to the Unisaw and I preferred the opposite tilt. The Sawstop ICS build and quality is on a completely different level than the Unisaw or Powermatic. I've since moved to a Euro Slider. If I were buying another cabinet saw I'd get the Sawstop. The stores around here that sell them have one on display with the top removed next to a Powermatic so you can see the build differences and ability to really dial in the calibration on the Sawstop where the Powermatic doesn't even adjust.