Thread: Help with saving old bench

Help with saving old bench

Hi,
    I have this old bench made out of reclaimed wood. I got it from a friend years ago and moved it all the way from Switzerland to Canada with me. I fear it's about to fall apart and some bits and pieces are starting to fall off. It has never seen any oil or finish and is quite rough to the touch. I'm new to wood working and would like to safe the bench. I do have a hand plane. Should I plane it down a little and fill the cracks with some kind of filler and then put some danish oil and bees wax on it? I'll try to post some pictures. Thank you for sharing your experience.
    Attached Images Attached Images

is this for indoor or outdoor use? if indoor I would epoxy coat it, it would fill all cracks and leave a nice looking finish. outdoor, I am not familiar with

Wow, that's quite a bit of rot... Some interesting spalting. That bench looks like it might have spent a lot of time outdoors in the sun and rain, etc.

IMHO, the leg(s) needs to be completely replaced. I can't imagine there's much integrity left in the wood to counteract lateral movement.

The top looks like it could be planed down to solid wood but more pictures of the whole bench, underside, etc, would be beneficial. Without dimensions and some better understanding of how the bench is built, it's hard to say if the planed top would end up too thin. But the bottom 2/3 of that top seems it might be OK. A single wide plank at that.. Maybe after planing the top, it could be laminated onto 4/4 stock to build the thickness back up. Particularly if you want to hang vises on it. tough call. Benches this far gone probably end up as fire-wood or sold for art..

If your goal is to end up with a solid wood-working bench, give it a go, and if it doesn't work out, you at least ended up with a significant cardio workout..
    Brian