Thread: Under lathe storage and weight cabinet done.

Under lathe storage and weight cabinet done.

Well this is not a turning project but it is for my lathe. I wanted to make a cabinet for under my new G0766 lathe to store all the various turning stuff that we seem to collect and I also wanted to add a little weight to it so after thinking about various options I decided to completely replace the legs and build a whole new cabinet. I used some 2x4's, 2x6's, the shipping crate, a sheet of 1/2" plywood and some old 2 1/2" thick maple boards I had been moving around for 20 years to build it. I made chambers down both sides and across the top and added 450lb of sand to it. All total I think the cabinet weighs around 650 lb. 5 large 28" deep drawers should hold quite a bit of stuff. I still need to mount a piece of 80/20 on the headstock end that will stick up over the headstock to mount my hollowing TV on and I am thinking about building a 20" extension to the bed so I can slide the tail stock down out of the way of the hollowing rig so that I don't have to pick it up off the lathe. By replacing the legs I also was able to lower the lathe an inch which is a better height for me.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Sparky Paessler

That's a nice looking set up.

Nice cabinet. Your solution follows the same route mine did, I salute your thought process and finished project as well.
    Robust American Beauty lathe, 25” swing, electronic variable speed 80-3000 RPM
    Colt SML-350 14” midi-lathe, electronic variable speed 80-3700 RPM

'73 52" Rockwell-Delta Unisaw, 14" Variable speed Jet bandsaw, 6" Jet Jointer, 20" Dewalt scrollsaw, 15" Craftsman drill press

Tinkerer and woodturner
    1,475 mi SSW of Steve Schlumpf

Nicely done and great looking.

Red
    RED

I'm jealous!! Nice job.

6. Well thought out design, Sparky! You have a great setup there! Do you have feet on the cabinet, or did you put casters on it ao you could make it mobile?