Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Really need expert advice on router size and type???

Really need expert advice on router size and type???

Hi, I searched the forums but the posts I found were older and wanted to see if more current recommendations are out there. Quick background on my needs... I'm an artist and only use a router for one thing, cutting out large (up to 4' x 4'), sometimes intricate, wood shapes out of 1/2" hardwood sanded plywood from Lowes. I use my own MDF templates, a template guide and whiteside spiral upcut bits. I change bits about every 5 pattern shapes. I use it about 2 or 3 times a month, cutting 4 or 5 shapes at a time, so not excessive in my opinion.

I ordered the PC 1 3/4 hp router in January. In March, it had burning smell and weird noise, took it in, they replaced almost everything, took about 6weeks that I was without it. I got it back and it was working fine until the other day and now doing it again and having to send it back in. I don't know if I got a lemon or if I'm not using the right size tool for what I need. Do I need more hp? I didn't want to go to one of the huge routers that only take 1/2" bits since I already have my template guide and all that for my 1/4" bits

Oh and I use a 10gauge extension cord with it.

So what should I order? need one ASAP
    Thank you!
    Lucy

Quote Originally Posted by Lucy Langlois View Post
    Hi, I searched the forums but the posts I found were older and wanted to see if more current recommendations are out there. Quick background on my needs... I'm an artist and only use a router for one thing, cutting out large (up to 4' x 4'), sometimes intricate, wood shapes out of 1/2" hardwood sanded plywood from Lowes. I use my own MDF templates, a template guide and whiteside spiral upcut bits. I change bits about every 5 pattern shapes. I use it about 2 or 3 times a month, cutting 4 or 5 shapes at a time, so not excessive in my opinion.