Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Entering into the world of CNC

Entering into the world of CNC

Hi everyone, I, like many before me am interested into entering into the world of CNC woodworking.
    I am a relatively new woodworker - started out as a small hobby about 3 years ago and have progressed to doing more and more projects for the house, for gifts, and for friends. Last year, I started making some children's toy and furniture pieces and began selling them locally and through some online outlets. I figured, if I could sell a couple of items a month, it would allow me to purchase new tools faster and saw it as a way to support the hobby. A year into it, I now see a need to use CNC machining to reduce the variability in the items I am selling and to make the manufacturing more efficient so I can meet the demand I am seeing and also create time to work on other projects that I have for the small business I created. I have a garage-based shop that I work out of when I'm home from work and not spending time with my wife and three kids under 4yo so there have been a lot of late-late nights with saws running - thankfully my kids sleep through all of it and my neighbors haven't complained yet. I consider myself very tech-savvy and have some experience doing CAD work with Solidworks and hope some of that experience will make my venture into CNC woodworking and use of the associated design software a little smoother.