Thread: In over my head, sign ideas?

In over my head, sign ideas?

The sales director of a local retirement home had me make a sign from LaserLights. A simple thing 2 by 7 inches with 4 lines of Times New Roman.

He just told me that he believes that I have the artistic ability to put in a proposal for the new exterior signage. I have no artistic ability. None. But I sure would like this job. I looked around and most of the signs in the area, including theirs are sand blasted wood.

My first thoughts are a similar sized wood sign with the new logo cut from corian or acrylic and the text cut from foam. The physical construction of a sign won’t be a problem but since I’ve never done anything like this before I don’t know how to pick materials that will weather well. The signs face due West to the Puget Sound. Shoot, I don’t even know where to get foam. And then comes pricing. They have at least four signs that are 3 feet by 6 or there about.

I’m going to reread Patrick Spielman's Making Wood Signs.

Michael

PS, one of my seven customers is working on an order that could mean at least $100,000!
    70 watt Epilog Legend 24
    Bought new in December 2002