Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thoughts on a Mortiser

Thoughts on a Mortiser

I am thinking of picking up a Mortiser for my shop. I have a couple of projects coming up where a mortiser would come in handy.

The one I've been looking at the most is the Powermatic PM701 3/4hp model.

Any thoughts? Comments? or otherwise?
    "I've cut the dang thing three times and it's STILL too darn short"
    Name withheld to protect the guilty

Stew Hagerty

Would not be without my mortiser, Stew.

No experience with the PM 701. I started 15 years ago with the standard-grade Delta benchtop. That adventure lasted 6 months - donated it to local HS shop. Got the PM 719.

But, then - when I have a project, it is usually overrun with M&T joints, so this thing was a great investment for me.
    When I started woodworking, I didn't know squat. I have progressed in 30 years - now I do know squat.

I am a Hybrid Woodworker. I have no problem chopping a mortiser by hand or drilling then cleaning up. I actually prefer chopping to drilling. I actually think it's more difficult to clean up the opening than to chop it from scratch with one of my heavy mortising chisels. But the projects I have coming up are going to require a lot of M&T's.
    I also thought about a Domino, but I would need the XL and it's over a thousand dollars. I'm sorry but Festool stuff is ridiculously priced and I've seen several tool tests where they don't win even though they are often 2-3 times the price of the winner.
    So that leaves me with a mortiser.

Stew Hagerty

Stew I have the same Powermatic as Kent, I think? Mines not tilt, came out just after I bought mine. I would buy it again but would prefer a tilt model for those once in a while situations where it would make life easier. I have made scores of doors with it and it has not hiccuped once.

Quote Originally Posted by Larry Edgerton View Post