Thread: Old Craftsman 11323800 wood lathe

Old Craftsman 11323800 wood lathe

Hello turner!

I am new to wood turning and honestly my lack of knowledge proves it. My Father had an old Craftsman 12" lathe that he bought years ago and never used. Unfortunately, at some point he misplaced the manual.

I am trying to figure out what parts I need and I am not finding much on the Internet. I have been turning bottle stoppers, but I need a Jaw chuck and a faceplate so I can start turning larger items. I believe I need a 3/4 16 tpi faceplate, but I am a bit stumped with what else I need to try and turn some small bowls and such.

Any help?

Thanks Guys, Ashleigh

I have no idea what that # relates to,,but if it is 3/4x16 you can get chucks,& faceplates just about anywhere. For lower priced ones, go to Penn State industries. For better, try Craft Supplies USA, or Packard woodworks. As for tools to turn bowls, again check these three places. Try to find a turning club..they can help immensely.
    Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the ground each morning, the devil says, "oh crap she's up!"

Tolerance is giving every other human being every right that you claim for yourself.

"What is man without the beasts? If all the beasts are gone, men would die from great loneliness of spirit. For whatever happens to the beasts will happen to man. All things are connected. " Chief Seattle Duwamish Tribe

That is the craftsman mono tube lathe which you are likely to quickly outgrow if you find that you like turning. I would not buy a chuck that didn't use adapters to get to 3/4 x 16. That way you can just change the adapter when you decide to upgrade. Know that you can do most turnings without a chuck, if you want to get some experience without spending a lot of money. Most important have fun and be safe.