Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Too much power (Laser cut5.3)

  1. #1

    Too much power (Laser cut5.3)

    Hi I recently changed my laser from a 50W to a 60W tube I had a problem and managed to damage my power supply for the tube. I changed out this also and the laser has never been cutting better but I have a small problem when I want to do light engraving I am getting too much power it wont fire under less than 6mA. I can use the manual power setting on my laser engraver to get this down to 3mA and this is a good setting for me my tube fires at about 2.4mA.

    I need to figure a way to get the power down to a lower power without using the manual override on the machine any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Glenelg, MD
    Posts
    12,261
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by anthony carroll View Post
    Hi I recently changed my laser from a 50W to a 60W tube I had a problem and managed to damage my power supply for the tube. I changed out this also and the laser has never been cutting better but I have a small problem when I want to do light engraving I am getting too much power it wont fire under less than 6mA. I can use the manual power setting on my laser engraver to get this down to 3mA and this is a good setting for me my tube fires at about 2.4mA.

    I need to figure a way to get the power down to a lower power without using the manual override on the machine any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
    Welcome to the world of Chinese lasers. You will have a difficult time getting it to fire at very low settings. There should be a setting to adjust the range "0-100%" gives you, but I can't tell you how to get to it (and it's usually hidden behind a password).
    Hi-Tec Designs, LLC -- Owner (and self-proclaimed LED guru )

    Trotec 80W Speedy 300 laser w/everything
    CAMaster Stinger CNC (25" x 36" x 5")
    USCutter 24" LaserPoint Vinyl Cutter
    Jet JWBS-18QT-3 18", 3HP bandsaw
    Robust Beauty 25"x52" wood lathe w/everything
    Jet BD-920W 9"x20" metal lathe
    Delta 18-900L 18" drill press

    Flame Polisher (ooooh, FIRE!)
    Freeware: InkScape, Paint.NET, DoubleCAD XT
    Paidware: Wacom Intuos4 (Large), CorelDRAW X5

  3. #3
    Hi I have fount some setting that needed a password I had the password but still not change no mater what setting I change.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Harvey, Michigan
    Posts
    20,526
    Found this in the wrong forum and moved here. Hope someone can assist Anthony.
    Steve

    “You never know what you got til it's gone!”
    Please don’t let that happen!
    Become a financial Contributor today!

  5. #5
    After changing the setting you need to hit "Download CFG" on the software (In the download dialog), wait for the beep then reeboot the machine from cold start. Unless you do that the changes don't get to the firmware of the laser so no changes will be applied.

    cheers

    Dave

    ps: Dan's of course right, too low a power and the tube won't fire, anything under 10% and the beam will be sporadic.
    You did what !

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    71
    Just an FYI..... When I tested my Gwieke the min it would fire at was 11%, about 13% before it was useful.
    Gwieke 1290-100W,
    Trotec Speedy 400 - 80W
    Corel Draw X4

  7. #7
    Have you tried change the density of black? By making it a lighter grey this may work for you.
    Martin Boekers

    1 - Epilog Radius 25watt laser 1998
    1 - Epilog Legend EXT36 75watt laser 2005
    1 - Epilog Legend EXT36 75watt laser 2007
    1 - Epilog Fusion M2 32 120watt laser with camera 2015
    2 - Geo Knight K20S 16x20 Heat Press
    Geo Knight K Mug Press,
    Ricoh GX-7000 Dye Sub Printer
    Zerox Phaser 6360 Laser Printer
    numerous other tools and implements
    of distruction/distraction!

  8. #8
    Martin,

    It will make no difference, Lasercut only see's 2 colours, black or white, there is no greyscaling option as it's not a full print driver.

    cheers

    Dave
    You did what !

  9. #9
    Maybe an option is to dither? Not sure if this would work or not, the farther apart you move the dots may change the appearance.

    Not sure if a neutral density filter exist that could be adapted to you laser, maybe Dan Hintz would know.
    Martin Boekers

    1 - Epilog Radius 25watt laser 1998
    1 - Epilog Legend EXT36 75watt laser 2005
    1 - Epilog Legend EXT36 75watt laser 2007
    1 - Epilog Fusion M2 32 120watt laser with camera 2015
    2 - Geo Knight K20S 16x20 Heat Press
    Geo Knight K Mug Press,
    Ricoh GX-7000 Dye Sub Printer
    Zerox Phaser 6360 Laser Printer
    numerous other tools and implements
    of distruction/distraction!

  10. #10
    You could use the "Half Bitmap" tool if you are using a raster file to ligthen up the image. It's basically the poor man's PhotoGrav

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sunny Palm Harbor Florida
    Posts
    223
    Hiya Dave,
    Yesterday I started to chase a similar problem. I've done all the steps - changed out controller boards (MPC6515) - reinstalled Lasercut, re-checked all the machine cfg settings and now it just want to power at 15ma, whether I cut or engrave.

    I am using Win 8.1 64 bit and am wondering if something has buggered-up the download communication to the controller after a recent Windows update.

    Have you any idea why the flying optics would get stuck or stop working?

    And yes it is my experience that anything set lower than 12-13% power in the software especially if the PAD setting is lower the 100% , the results are sketchy. I keep my pad set at 80/80 and usually can get away with 14% power.

    So I am wondering if this new power issue is mechanical, wiring, power supply, controller something else? Any ideas??

    Vix

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,540
    Is this a new machine and did it ever work right as far as power adjustment? If you replaced the controller and/or power supply it could be its not connected right. Also in the software there might be a check box in the setup machine for analog or PWM.
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller , WorkBee 1000x750 CNC Router - Mach4 - Windows 10

  13. #13
    Bill may be on to it Vix, there are two options depending on the J2 jumper for Analog or PWM, have a look in machine settings for the type of control?

    cheers

    Dave
    You did what !

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sunny Palm Harbor Florida
    Posts
    223
    Found the problem - after crawling all in the underbelly of the machine - the power supply wire had vibrated loose. It was connected at the controller but not at the ps.


    This machine is my workhorse been running for many years. After putting back all the original parts and going back to the originally installed Lasercut, the power and the flying optics work perfectly fine.


    Lesson learned?-KNOW your machine intimately - every nook cranny wire bolt screw belt and so on! And check all of it!

    I always seem to "blame" the controller but have found there are so many other itty bitty troubleshooters that need to be done!

    I previewed the new Leetro Controller - dongles but the file types are no longer ecp - now ftp - the only way to use my library of ecp projects is to go to an another computer - export the ecp file as a plt and then bring into the new Lasercut 6.1 and then save as ftp - - I told Andrew too much work for me, so I continue to use my hardy MPC 6515. I am still fiddling with upgrading it to the 6535 but am not confident in the wiring and the warning they issued about the polarity & possible damage to the machine electrical.

    If anyone has swapped out the 6515 to the 6535 - your advise would be greatly appreciated. Ken in Ohio sent me a photo of his machine, which came with the 6535 so I'm trying to sort it out.


    Thanks for the responses - Have a fun day!
    Vix

  15. #15
    Not much benefit going to the 35 Vix, the servo controller (75 I think) is very good but all the rest 15/25/35/65 are all pretty much the same.

    Like you I don't much care for the new version either

    cheers

    Dave
    You did what !

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •