Thread: OT Paint Question....

OT Paint Question....

Hi Everybody....

Well I started painting my living room today....and after the first coat of semi gloss, I'm thinking I should have bought eggshell finish instead. Can I put an eggshell finish paint over a semi gloss? The previous owners used that aweful halfmoon swirl texture on the walls and the shine makes it look like I have hundreds of old LP's all over my walls. They really stand out. The walls use to be white and you didn't notice the texture all that much, but I've really gone out on a limb and painted the walls a deep burgundy and the textrue shows a lot now!

Thanks for any advice.

Jennifer

Since most of us browse the Pond too.....yep, I cut and pasted my question in both places.....I'm Lazy!

Any gloss you want, you can do...

...of course you found out the hard way. Egg shell is a really nice finish for walls. I'd save the semi gloss for the bathroom tub area. You don't have to do any prep to spread the new paint over the old. Just remember to use a drop cloth
    Phil in Big D
    The only difference between a taxidermist and the taxman, is that the taxidermist leaves the skin. Mark Twain

Sure you can!

I'm gonna quote Dad here: "Paints cheap, labors expensive".

Good luck on the second coat Jen!!

Hi Jennifer. While I can't answer your question about the paint over, it would be my guess that like paints, oil or water based, can be put together. Remember, you can't mix oil and water

What I really wanted to say is if you haven't painted your ceiling yet, paint it with the whitest white semi-glass enamel you can find. It will easier to keep clean, and will help brighten the room.

Did you get much snow in Indy? My dad lives near Dayton and he said that the county has declared a level 3 emergency. That means that only emergency vehicles and offical business cars are allowed on the road.

Glad to hear your son is doing much better
    Best Regards, Ken

Thumbs up good news/bad news