Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Laser Checkering

Laser Checkering

Hi
    I'm fairly new to laser engraving ( November 2013) I have a 50W Epilog laser. I purchased it for a specific job with hopes of getting into checkering and gun stock engraving at some point, but all I see in the way of instruction is from epilog and unless you are familiar with Corel Draw they kind of leave you in the dark. Can anyone direct me to where I can learn to create checkering patterns and how to shape them into usable designs ?

John

Welcome to SMC.

I'd advise exploring the post script fill tool on the fill tool flyout. The are quite a few options and they can be adjusted. I have not seen any tutorials for this tool but you can pick it up fairly quickly with a little practice. The one below is a very simple one where the art took about 15 minutes at most.

rifle.jpg
    Mike Null

St. Louis Laser, Inc.

Trotec Speedy 300, 80 watt
    Gravograph IS400
    Woodworking shop CLTT and Laser Sublimation
    Dye Sublimation
    CorelDraw X5, X7

Thanks Mike ...I didn't even know that existed. Looks very usable . I wonder if you can create your own fill pattern within that feature. I see you used a diamond, but there does not appear to be one in the selection choices...Guess I have to learn Corel !

John

That is the crosshatch fill where I set the spacing to be equal. See below.

crosshatch.png
    Mike Null

St. Louis Laser, Inc.

Gravograph IS400
    Dye Sublimation
    CorelDraw X5, X7

Thanks Mike. I don't know if that helped John but it sure helped me. I wondered how that was done.
    Gary

Blog Entries
    Mike,

I may be wrong, but aren't most gun makers interested in the more heavily textured, 3D sort of checkering rather than flat line based checkering? In other words, rather than a flat diamond pattern the interior of each diamond would come to a point. There is one example if this on a rifle stock in the Epilogue Laser samples page.