Thread: Gluing Wood to Metal Question

Gluing Wood to Metal Question

An upcoming project necessitated my gluing a piece of 1/4” aluminum (6061 if that matters) to a piece of Bolivian Rosewood. Full plane-to-plane contact and gluing.

My plan is to completely clean off the aluminum, abrade the surface (that’s going to be glued) well and as a last step, clean it thoroughly with rubbing alcohol or mineral spirits and let it air dry before gluing. The wood will be belt-sanded perfectly flat and also well-abraded before gluing. I plan on getting a good two-part epoxy glue from a local West Marine store.

I’ve never done this before, and the above is the best game plan I’ve been able to put together.

Any comments, ideas, suggestions or experiences? Am I on the right path or headed for disaster?

Thanks for your help.

Your preparation sounds good. This is what This to That recommends for glue.
    http://www.thistothat.com/cgi-bin/gl...etal&that=Wood
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney

Bruce - Try Loctite Weld. Good luck - and please post your results.

Pen turners glue brass to all sorts of woods using a process very much like what you're proposing. (Roughen, solvent clean, epoxy.) Go for it!

Great to hear that my intuitive game plan was on the right track! Thanks for your inputs.

To take it a step further -- The pieces I’ll be gluing together will be shaped in a Y or X configuration and no bigger than around 5”x6” in size, so I presume that’s viewed as “small” size.