Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on finding a metric plough plane

Advice on finding a metric plough plane

Hello! I'm just starting out, and I've found lots of good advice on this forum already just by searching. I have one problem that I have not been able to sort out quite yet, and I need some advice.

I want a plough (plow) plane, specifically to try tongue and groove joinery, and I have a few requirements:
    1. I would prefer everything in my shop to be metric, eventually, so I want a 6mm tongue cutter and a 6mm groove cutter to match a 6mm chisel that I already own.
    2. Gotta have a depth stop. I know some plough planes don't have a depth stop, but I don't quite trust myself that much yet. I have a Stanley 78, and I am positive that it would be useless to me with out the depth stop.
    3. I would prefer a metal plane for the time being, but I'm open to a woody of some sort if it meets my other requirements.
    4. I've got about $100 to spend.

So, here are the options I've explored so far:

Veritas Small Plow Plane
    http://www.leevalley.com/us/wood/pag...78&cat=1,41182
    I love this plane about as much as one can without having used it, but it's obviously out of my budget. PROS: metric cutters readily available, excellent quality, depth stop, metal. CONS: cost!

Stanley No. 50 (or possibly Record 050?)