Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yes or no on the Makita LS1016L sliding miter saw?

Yes or no on the Makita LS1016L sliding miter saw?

I am in the market for a new miter saw, and I made an Amazon impulse purchase, and then tried to cancel it. It had already shipped and is in transit, but Amazon is fine with me refusing delivery.

I have read mostly great things about the saw, but have a few concerns with some things i read about kick backs due to a problem with the fence, and also maybe long term durability.

If i return it i would likly go for the 10" Bosch slider, but really that is more money than i care to spend for a hobbyist tool. So please don't suggest i buy the Kapex

I can't speak of the 1016 but I have owned a 1013 for about 10 years now that I still really like. Still no play on the rails when sliding. Like you I'm a hobbyist at best, so it doesn't get used a whole lot so I can't really speak to its durability in a high-use shop. From a picture I just googled up the 1016 seems to have a similar fence to the 1013 and I've never had any kick backs.

Having said that though, if I was buying new, I would take a hard look at the Bosch Glider as it requires much less clearance behind the saw. Good for conserving floor space in small shops.
    Last edited by Brian Tymchak; 12-21-2013 at 11:42 AM.
    Brian

"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger or more complicated...it takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction." - E.F. Schumacher

I owned a Makita LS1216L for a little over a year. It was the biggest piece of crap I ever saw. Inaccurate, not durable, and constantly needing repair. Makita was very little help. I sold the thing at a real loss. I will never buy a Makita anything again due to their poor customer service more so than the tool itself.