Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hickory end grain help. It appears to be impenetrable!

Hickory end grain help. It appears to be impenetrable!

I'm fairly new to the whole woodworking and hand tool world, having only really been at it for a year or so.... And I've mostly made only spoons/spatulas and the Paul sellers workbench.

Anyway, finally got around to a shooting board and was playing with it with both my #4 and #5. Pine was great on end grain and long grain, same with cherry.

Cool, I thought, and then I threw on a piece of hickory I intended to turn into a dovetail template... And nothing... So advance the blade a little - wack/thud/jar. I fiddled, resharpened, and brought the blade back but at best I'd get tiny dust or the thud at worst. Long grain was hard but worked...

Is this just the famed hickory hardness, or something else? I got it closer to square but still has judder marks in it...

It sounds like your blade isn't sharp enough so its not "biting" and taking a shaving at a thin setting. This causes you to need to thicken the cut, but then its too heavy plus not sharp enough and so you get the THUD.

Have you tried shooting anything other than hickory on it? Same issue or not?

One other possibility that I can think of other than edge keeness is if that if the mouth of the plane is fairly open the corner of the piece could be going too far up into it when you enter the cut IF you're not quite holding the work piece in place or if your plane stroke is a little wobbly.

Rehone, and then go slow. Not super slow you need some force but Yyu do not need to slam the plane through the cut. Even if the mouth is open you can leave that as is, just make sure your are aligning the workpiece properly with the plane sole before you start the stroke, that you are holding the piece ight against the fence, and that your stroke is straight and true. Also stick with the 5 for this, the weight compared to the 4 will be of benefit here.