Thread: help guys !! CNC router inquiry

help guys !! CNC router inquiry

hi guys ,
    this is my first post here , i am totally new to this field, and i am opening a drinking coasters and customized wood working shop.
    i am looking for a good cnc router that would help me do the engraving on my hardwood drinking coasters
    simple work such as company logos, simple artwork . etc , to give a 3d feeling.
    i am looking for a fast machine that is user friendly and could cut too
    i am looking for something less than 50k usd ( the best value for money )

thanks in advance

Welcome,

For about $2K you could get a CarveWright and start with a small investment and test market the idea... $50K is a bunch of money to invest and possibly loose... A Business Plan would help get you started in the right direction. Many a business fails from poor market research.

When you mention Logo's many think that a fortune in money can be made doing sports stuff and other copyright logo's... That is a Slippery Slope as you would be breaking the law making and selling such stuff without proper permission. Do a search on Copyright here and the other forums like the many laser forums and you will see the stories of the Cease and Desist orders.

If your still game for a big boy CNC you are at the right place. Do a search on buying a CNC and this question has been answered many times in many ways.

AL
    Last edited by AL Ursich; 08-03-2013 at 1:21 PM.
    1 Laser, 4 CarveWrights, Star 912 Rotary, CLTT, Sublimation, FC7000 Vinyl, 911 Signs, Street Signs, Tourist Products and more.
    Home of the Fire Department "Epoxy Dome Accountability Tag and Accountability Boards".

Doesn't sound as if your project requires too much of a cnc. Some things to consider, how many do you want to do at a time and how much room do you have for the cnc. What future uses would you have for it?