Thread: Thread: Tips for Repairing Router Gouges, Unevenness in Oak Headboard

Question Thread: Tips for Repairing Router Gouges, Unevenness in Oak Headboard

Hey all,

The project
    So, I'm in the process of building an oak bed frame. Did quite a bit of it along with some help from my dad, who's a carpenter by trade, but also got some advice from some woodworking friends of his. This is my first major project (a few minor bookshelves aside) and, needless to say, the project has taught me quite a bit over the time I've been working on it (another story in itself...).

In the center of the headboard is a 1.5" deep inset arched area, roughly 2'x2'. Inside this inset will be placed a piece I had laser carved and then I cleaned out with a rotary tool, seen below.
    IMG_3511_Small.jpg

The problem(s)
    Problem is, this inset area got attacked by a plunge router. The depth gauge slipped a few times and took some chunks out of the frame. At it's deepest, probably 1/16". I'm a little at a loss for how best to repair this. Below are some samples of the damage
    IMG_3514_Cut_Small.jpgIMG_3515_Cut_Small.jpgIMG_3516_Cut_Small.jpg

Along with the gouges is just some general unevenness of the area, either due to uneven sanding or gradual slippage of the router. It's not visually obvious, but running your hand over it becomes pretty clear. I suspect stain and seal would make it much more visually apparent.

Attempted solutions
    We originally cut out some 1/4" oak plywood to fit the inset, but it splintered all over the place on the edges. I tried repairing that with some wood putty from Rockler, but I'm afraid that with time and age it will just be blatantly obvious, even if it looks halfway decent at the moment.