Thread: Scissors Test/Review

Scissors Test/Review

Fiskars 9" dressmaker shears made in Finland $20
    VS
    Fiskars 9'' razor edge shears made in China $15

I think this is my first tool review ever and it includes a dressmaking tool! I guess I could always use a little ego puncturing.

I've been cutting thick paper patterns a lot. I have some 30 year old German scissors that are the best in our house. I sharpened them and they cut OK, but I'm not a pro sharpener. I worked in a blueprint shop once and we had huge scissors that would slice one layer of blueprint paper by just opening them half way and pushing. No squeezing of the handles needed. That has been a sign of a good pair of scissors for me.

Let me start by saying my grandfather was born in Finland and made knives. I want to own what maybe the last of the Fiskars made in Finland. I went to my local Walmart and they had the made in Finland model for $20 that everyone on Amazon liked. I grabbed it like it was an ancient gem that was a part of my heritage. The Made in China model looked well, better. This is my first scissor review, but thru all that plastic packaging China's blades looked 20% thicker. But Finland has the finer steel,right. I needed to test the cutting. I bought both.

First they both pushed thru paper like blueprint shears. I sliced off wavy and straight 1/8" strips with ease. Both China and Finland felt equal. Then I pushed thru paper at varying spots on the mating blades. Wait one caught ever so slightly. NO! it's Finland. After a few minutes more on paper I had a preference for the made in China shears.
    Next leather. No push cutting here just normal scissor action. Thick leather hands down China. Thin leather, China wins as well.

I love my Finish heritage and all but I feel a little let down. Maybe I'll feel good knowing there's no dressmaking tool in my shop.

It would be interesting to hear the long term review. I wonder how the China model will perform after a few years.

Steve