Thread: Routing mortises using an edge guide

Routing mortises using an edge guide

Hi, I'm fairly new to this forum but have been reading it for several months now. I'm a weekend woodworker and have been on a fairly steep learning curve for about 2 years now (with no end in sight :-)

I am trying to route a mortise using a plunge router with an edge guide. I built a small jig I found here:
    http://www.tools-for-woodworking.com...n=Custom&ID=29.

It mostly works well except for the initial part of the cut. It seems that there is some play in the edge guide system because the slot moves a bit away from where the bit was initially set as soon as I start to move the router (I'm assuming the fence gets pulled tighter against the jig). It's only about 1/16" but I'd like to figure out how to eliminate it.

I'm using a PC 690 with the PC edge guide, I've attached a 10" long wooden fence to the guide. The bars that hold the edge guide are a bit flimsy so that may be where the problem is. I did make sure the fence attached to the edge guide was flat and square to the jig.

Is this slight movement normal with edge guides or is there a trick I don't know?

Geoff,

I believe there are two different PC edge guides, but I'll assume you have the most common one that I also have/had. I was never able to get decent resuts with it until I made the following changes:

1) I changed out the whimpy phillips-head bolts that secure the guide to the base. I tapped out the holes to SAE 1/4 fine and used regular bolts to get some decent clamping power.

2) I ground away the portion of the guide that was interfering with the base, not allowing the flats of the guide to contact the mating flat surfaces on the base where the mounting studs pass through.