Thread: Finishing for a Commercial Setting

Finishing for a Commercial Setting

I am relatively new to furniture production and finishing. I have a small design/build studio in Ohio, we do a lot of full design and build outs for restaurants, stores and residential customers. In the past we have used a lot of wipe on tung oil, poly and shellac. However is there another finish I should consider for more commercial setting? I have used Waterlox in the past but its not light on the pocket book.

I am debating about setting up a spray booth so that is also on horizon. However, I don't know what is best to spray for beginners like myself.

Cheers.

You think Waterlox is expensive? Wait till you buy a real commercial finish. I would not consider anything in a resturant except conversion varnish, either solvent or water based. Use Target Coatings for your water based, and possibly Sherwin Williams for you solvent based products. I know the solvent based has an acid catalyst, so paint booth is a necessity. How have you been keeping the dust from settling on those slow finishes you are currently using? You must have a clean room. I'm surprised that you've gotten by with the finishes you have mentioned. Resturants are constantly cleaning with chemical solutions, many are alcohol or ammonia based, and those will eat up a shellac finish in no time. Add in the high wear, and you really need the tough stuff.

Thanks for feedback, I agree conversion varnish would be the way to go. The Target conversion varnish is almost half the price of waterlox so that is great as well. We do have a nice clean setup for those slow finishes, however we are just now getting into the commercial settings and preferred to use those on our home good pieces. I think a nice spray booth setup with some conversion varnish will be the way to go.