Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm deciding on a new saw - any helpful words?

Question I'm deciding on a new saw - any helpful words?

First, I'm a hobby woodworker, my shop is in the basement of my house.

I'm looking at getting a new table saw. It's not very hard to look at the websites of different manufacturers, read the ad copy and look at the pictures. Besides getting features that I want and think I may find useful, I'm interested in learning about things that are less easily known. Things like the real quality of construction, support and availability of parts after the sale. Perhaps long after the sale.

I currently use a General hybrid saw. It's o.k., but it's time for better.

At this time I'm most interested in Felder (Hammer), the Unisaw and Sawstop. I know - Felder makes a very different kind of saw. But the sliding table it has would be a very nice thing to have. But the fence doesn't look too impressive and the blade is right tilt. That particular fact is a big negative to me.

The Sawstop and the Unisaw. Both look pretty good. I'm well aware of the Sawstops safety technology as far as touching the running blade goes. I'm looking beyond that - what about the rest of the saw?

I can go to the local Woodcraft store with my flashlight and mirror and look at the Sawstop and the Unisaw. But not a Felder or Hammer.

Questions:

I'm in SE Wisconsin. Is there anywhere with Felder and or Hammer saws on display?

What's the service like for any of them after buying? I mean answering questions that may come up, parts availability, delivery of the parts, etc.

Those things are heavy too - how'd they arrive at your shop/home? How did it get to where you're using it?

I thought I read in the manual for one of the Hammer saws that they do the installation and setup. Does that mean they'd carry it down to my shop? I'm o.k. with setup, I'm familiar with dial indicators, micrometers and so forth.