Thread: Work table top idea

Work table top idea

I need to build a large and sturdy work table for medium duty tasks (computer assembly, small appliance repair, etc). I have a large amount of rough sawn knotty oak around (I'm guessing #2 common), that I would like to utilize for this project. My thought was to plane a bunch of boards and cut them into 2.5" wide strips, then select strips with least knots on one side and glue them together so that the edges with least knots form the upside of a 2.5" thick table top. Then I would pour a layer of epoxy resin on the top to fix the knots.

I have no experience with pourable resin table tops whatsoever, so I would like to hear any feedback for this plan. For example, how wear resistant would this pourable table top coating be? Overall any reason to think that this might be a bad plan? At this point I'm really open for any suggestions inside and outside of this plan, as long as it includes using this lumber for making a heavy duty table top. The appearance is not a top concern, but it should not look entirely horrible either.

Pete

One idea that may be easier would be to just use bondo or a similar mixed filler. Depending on how you do with the knots, you may find your much better off in the end than you thought you'd be. A two part epoxy that is troweled on/in with a putty knife may also be an easy solution.

Make the top out of the knotty pine strips. Then top it with a piece of tempered hardboard. Fasten with screws around the perimeter and replace it when it is dinged up more than you care for.

Knots tend to chip/dull planer knives. I'd use the lumber unplaned for structure, and cover it with something smooth. Or I'd cut around the knots and assemble the resulting shorts into a big knot-free table top. That's how "butcherblock" counters are made.