Thread: DC Duct to TS in New Shop

DC Duct to TS in New Shop

I am new to woodworking and in the planning stage for a new 25'X30' shop building. The floor will be a concrete slab on grade. I would appreciate any thoughts anyone has on the best way to route my DC duct (6" PVC drain line) and power supply to the table saw. The options are to route the duct and electrical conduit under the slab before it is poured, or..... route the duct and electrical conduit above the ceiling and drop down to the table saw. Obviously, the downside of putting them in the slab is that I will loose fexibility in moving the table saw around....and the downside of dropping down from the ceiling is that they may get in the way when using the table saw. All of my other DC source points will be on or near the 30' wall where I will have a 6" PVC header for those tie-ins.

Also, should I run duct and electrical to additional "islands" in the shop before I pour the slab, or just drop down from the ceiling if needed in the future?

Thanks for your help!

a 750 sq' shop!!! i think i'd get lost in a shop that big! drop downs or take off along a wall that can be routed under tools or benches to minimize trippeing hazzards are my preferences. not a big fan of the "in the floor" approach.

First, either way works and you sure don't want cords and hoses laying across your floor. From the ceiling isn't bad at all, you make your AC and DC drops from the left side of the saw where it doesn't get in the way. I prefer it to under the slab unless you are SURE you won't move the TS, if you are positive of the layout then it can be excellent as well.
    Of all the laws Brandolini's may be the most universally true.

Deep thought for the day:

Your bandsaw weighs more when you leave the spring compressed instead of relieving the tension.