Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: small table build

small table build

Here's a few pictures I took along the way while building this small table. The table's made from Honduran Mahogany. This was by far my most hand-tool intensive build I've done to date.

As they say, great things from small beginnings, so here we go!

First off, I made the legs. I started with some 12/4 blanks. I marked the off-cuts to be used with their matching leg later on.

These are just your basic cabriole legs, layed out and band-sawed to rough shape. If you look closely, I cut a table saw kerf on two sides to define the top of the knee and create the rabbet for the aprons.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Brett Robson; 12-20-2011 at 1:21 PM. Reason: spelling

Next comes the hard part - carving the ball and claw. I'm by no means a pro at this so my feet look somewhat amateurish in comparison to many I've seen pictures of before.

I'd guess I took about a week to make the four feet. I probably could have done it faster but I found hunching over the bench for hours was killing my back, so I had to work in shorter sessions.

Next I prepped the stock for the top. I picked this as my next step because I wanted time for the stock to move and cup after resawing. I started with a chunk of 16/4 which I split on the bandsaw.

My lowly little Ridgid saw was screaming for mercy when cutting this board, but she made it through! When I reached the end of the board I had to pull it through from the rear as it was too heavy and long to try to hold from the front. I couldn't see my cut line from the back because the guides were in the way (all the way up) so I had to blindly cut the last foot or so.

As a result, the board deviated from my cut line by about 3/16" on the last foot. It wasn't a big deal, just more for me to plane off later.

I took the bulk off with my LAJ, then used my old No. 7 to flatten it.