Thread: Waterlox Questions

Waterlox Questions

I recently turned a pretty large Box Elder vase and an article in Woodturning Design recommended Waterlox as the finish to produce a nice mirror finish. I have never used it before so I was wondering some things.

1. Will it better maintain the white of the wood or turn it more yellow like WOP tends to do?

2. The Waterlox website states that if using Waterlox as a wipe-on finish, use only the original sealer/finish which is not a high gloss finish. Can the high or semi gloss be thinned and used as a wipe-on?

3. Should I wipe it on or brush it on?

4. What should be done between coats?

5. It really seems expensive for such a short shelf life, but I want the best possible finish, but was wondering if there were any other comparable products that work as well?

6. Anything else I need to know or suggestions?

Thanks,

Jeff

Jeff, you'll like Waterlox, but if you want to try a comparable product, try MinWax Antique Oil in the red can. It seems to have a better shelf life than WL. Starts drying quickly upon application (not a s fast as shellac).

Never used WOP, but Waterlox colors the wood a bit, but not overly yellow even over time. Most oil varnishes will do that, more or less depending on the resin mostly.

The Original formula can be applied in more coats to get a more glossy finish. I have always used it for a less shiny one.

Can wipe or brush. If you have a bark edge, then a small brush helps.

No need for anything between coats if you go light, but light 320 or 400 grit sanding won't hurt if the coat is fully dry.

I'd suggest reposting on the the Creek's finishing forum. There are a lot of more experienced people there to answer your questions.

Mark
    Last edited by Mark Levitski; 12-07-2011 at 5:46 PM.

Any of the oil based finishes will add an amber hue to light colored wood. I prefer lacquer for white woods.