Thread: Veneer on damaged particle board !

Veneer on damaged particle board !

I have a teak-veneer on damaged particle board table to be refinished. But
    BEFORE beginning this piece, I want to consult some other finishers. I have little experience with this “product.”

It’s a “mid-century modern” coffee table with solid teak surrounding the veneer-clad particle sheet. Water has swelled the board up proud of the level of the edging. In my first examination, I easily/accidentally broke off a small piece of veneer to reveal the oft-waterlogged mass of particles below. Seems a bad omen. There are even slightly bumpy areas out in the middle of the table surface, meaning water has gone through to weaken/expand the particle board all over, though the worst areas are along the boarder with the edging.
    IMG_0303.jpgIMG_0305.jpg
    The plan the clients agreed on was to stain, body up with several coats of dewaxed french polish and protect with 2 coats of wiping poly. They say they don’t mind the difference in level of sheet material vs. trim, and I wasn’t so concerned either until I found out it was particle board--apparently the type that’s more or less water soluble. Now that I know, alarms are going off in my head as I contemplate the various ways that the project could go wrong.

Shall I just do what my client asks and ignore the step and just do what I can?

Do I dare try light and gentle treatment with oxalic acid to remove stains?

Or should I heed the particle board alarm and go no farther?

I can just hear my mother calling out . . . “You can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear.” On the other hand, I’ve been paid half and I’d love to just finish it up and get it done.

What do you guys think? Ideas on client relations as well as woodworking will be appreciated. Thanks.

Blog Entries