Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Honing Jointer Blades

Honing Jointer Blades

Has anyone here tried honing your own jointer blades? I want to share my experience with this. I first tried this doing it by hand with sandpaper on glass honing down to only 1000 grit. Holy smoke! the results were phenomenal: I could surface boards with the most difficult grain with hardly any tear out. There was some because my honing wasn't perfect but I found that the blade bevel is wide enough to do a pretty fair job, far better than a commercially sharpened blade and its not difficult with an 8" jointer knife. Ten inch might be a little "iffy".

A month ago I bought the Veritas honing jig and the results were far better. Now I can run bird's eye through without tearing out a single eye after buying some 3M micro paper. Never again will I have to send out jointer knives for sharpening. What a boon!

I have no personal experience with this jig, but have read reports it works well.

Rich
    ALASKANS FOR GLOBAL WARMING

Eagle River Alaska

I think Bobby at Woodworkers Tool Works will sharpen and put the secondary bevel on if you ask. The old jointers and planers with grinders had a jointing stone attachment. After each knife was ground, you turned the machine on and lowered the stone until it kissed the blades. Ran the stone along the knives. Served two purposes, secondary bevel and putting all blades at exactly the same height. I have done it and it is pretty scary the first few times. The guys who are really good at in place grinding argue the finish is second to none- including tersa and shelix.