Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Architectural Models

Architectural Models

I thought that I would post a work in progress.
    Since I am an architect one of the many reasons for getting the laser was to make architectural models. I started this test project with one of my existing designs that I had done for a local builder. I took my 2d cadd files and exported them to SketchUp to create a 3d model. I did this to create all of the parts that I would need to cut the model out. With the 3d file I was able to make notches and tabs on each piece so the model could be snapped together. After working everything out I exported a 2d dwg file to Corel for the laser. All I had to do was to nest the parts and cut.
    This model is made from 1/8" baltic birch plywood for the structure and 1/8" acrylic for the windows. I am using .024 thick "PloyBak" that I have 3d engraved on to create siding, roofing and stone. The model scale is 1/4"=1'-0".
    I am interested if anyone else is doing this and if they have any tips or tricks of the trade.

PICT1974.jpgPICT1967.jpgPICT1968.jpg
    Larry Folk

LEF Architects, LLC
    The Historic Model Aircraft Company
    Epilog 24x12 75 watt
    Roland GX-24
    Corel X4
    MicroStation CADD Software
    Rhino w/T-Splines
    SketchUp 8 Pro

Larry,

First thing that's awesome nicely done I have not made a model yet but will be in a few weeks, I will need tips from you.
    Dean Fowell

Support Engineer
    Cad Cam Solutions

Georgia USA Previously Down Under
    Corel, Inkscape, Solidworks, Solid Edge, Lasercut 5.3, PhotoGrave 3.0 Radan, Tool Shop Cad Cam, AutoCad 2013, Radan Cad Cam , Visiual Macro
    FLC1490 80 watt, Shopbot

Wow, I've only made models with foamboard and paint - wood looks great! Can't wait to see the finished product, with siding, roofing and stone - ought to be killer!

Keep us posted, Larry!

Hi to Judy, dee