Thread: No need to sand between coats

No need to sand between coats

I never understood that people says

there is no need to sand between coats of spar varnish. As long
    as no debries flies onto the door, you will be fine.

You will always have stuff flying on the door when the varnish is still drying
    Last edited by Bruce Page; 05-06-2011 at 9:03 PM.

I've never heard that sanding between coats is a function of the TYPE of varnish or finish used.

I've heard (and I believe) it's a function of how thick the finish goes on, and how slowly it dries. The thinner the coat, the less likely the need to sand.

However, for me, the only rule to sanding is: if it's dry and it feels rough, sand.

Blog Entries
    I'm no expert but, poly cans that I have read (sounds like a title for a movie) state that if you do not re-coat within a certain time (to allow burn in I assume) you wait 72 hours or so, sand to provide grip and then apply the next coat. Explanation from folks who know more than I is that poly doesn't stick to poly except by mechanical bond. So, a slick poly surface is not a good surface to apply poly to; peeling can result ;-)

As to dust ALWAYS getting onto the surface . . . . do you mean to say that you don't have a HEPA-clean, positive pressure containment facility within which to apply your finish??? Wahdda ya do, use the gara . . . er shop!?!
    "A hen is only an egg's way of making another egg".

– Samuel Butler

Blog Entries
    Here's what Steve Mickley at Hardwood Lumber has to say (he is talking about a wipe-on finish). For more of his advice check out harwoodlumberandmoredotcom/articles