Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which router?

Which router?

Posted this over on woodnet, but that forum changes SO fast, I'm afraid I will lose the answers. That said, apologies for the duplication.

===
    I'm going to the woodworking show in a couple weeks here in atlanta, and to date, I don't have a nice router so figured I might catch a deal there.

What I'm looking for is something that will last me a while, will accept 1/2" and 1/4" bits, maybe fixed and plunge base, and most importantly, will accept most of the third party add-ons like fences, collars, etc.

I'm a hobbyist at best, so this need not be top of the line, but something I can use for a few years.

A "nice to have" would be soft-start.

I WON'T be throwing around raised-panel bits with it. (If I get into that, I'll buy another router FOR that.)

As welcome are opinions on models to stay away FROM.
    If "It's a poor craftsman that blames his tools", why do we think we can do more, and be better at it, with more expensive gizmos? You can't trade cash for skill. Unfortunately, I have neither.

I have the Porter Cable 895PK kit which includes the fixed base, plunge base, and a wrench to adjust bit height above the router table. The kit also comes with 1/4" and 1/2" collets. I got mine for $229 + shipping from Coastal Tools. Their price is $269 with a $40 instant rebate.

http://www.coastaltool.com/cgi-bin/S...187+1105492796

I believe Bosch makes a really nice kit that runs about $200. Sears sells the same model but it's a different color and include a router table wrench like the PC for about $220.

There are quite a few good router kits out there. I doubt you would regret getting any of the well known name brands that are within your budget.

What Jim said.

Bosch 1617EVSPK ...