Thread: Engraving on Black Marble

Engraving on Black Marble

Hello,

I am new to lasering on marble and I am having some difficulties getting the look that I would like for photos.

Does anyone have a suggestion for getting the lasering to "pop" or be white as opposed
    to the light gray that I am coming up with?

I am using a 50 watt Universal and Lasersketch's absolute black marble.

Thank you in advance for any advice!

Shawna
    First of all, welcome to the forum. You will find lots of information and helpful people here.
    I hate to break it to ya, but Lasersketch's absolute black marble ain't marble. That product is best treated as if it were granite. (If you doubt it, then do a quick test. Take some regular vinegar and put some on a place where it won't be seen. If it's marble, the vinegar will mar it). I usually run that product at about 40p/100s at 300dpi. To get it to "pop", get a tube of Winton's Artist Oil paint and rub it into the engraving when finished. Real marble won't require filling as it will laser white with the a properly prepared photo and the right settings. Marble settings are pretty much opposite of granite, high power, low speed. Do a search on here and you will find tons of info on this subject. Good luck with it and have fun!
    Epilog Legend EXT36-40watt, Corel X4, Canon iPF8000 44" printer,Photoshop CS6, Ioline plotter, Hotronix Swinger Heat Press, Ricoh GX e3300 Sublimation

San Jose, Ca soon to be Mariposa, CA "Gateway to Yosemite"
    Blog Entries
    Shawna,

Also Welcome to the Creek

You might want to view all the information at http://www.engrave.ca/

And watch the video's They are great.
    [/SIGPIC] Epilog Mini 24 - 45 watt, 3 Melco Amaya's with DesignShop, Roland PC-600 Printer/Plotter, Roland Camm-1 and 1050 plotter and a 6 color 4 station screen printing press. CorelDraw X3,X4 and X5 plus PhotoGrav 3.0

Lake Tapawingo, a suburb of Blue Springs, a suburb of Kansas City, MO. The Kansas City you know is in Missouri.