Thread: Thein Baffel inside -vs- Thein separator

Thein Baffel inside -vs- Thein separator

Hi all,

I snagged a 2 HP Harbor Freight dust collector that they sold without the bags. I got if for $80.

Last week I ordered the Wynn 35A filter to go on top. It should be here soon.

I have seen where some have inserted some kind of a baffle inside the dust collector.

Anyone have any good information on this about how well the Thein baffel works -vs- a Thein separator?

2. Read this http://www.cgallery.com/jpthien/cy.htm and the Forum link is on the bottom. There are some older posts that have more examples integrated into the 2 bag DC system.

The Thien baffle & Thien separator are the same thing. Some do mount the baffle in an enclosure before the D.C. to keep most stuff out of the D.C. I have no experience with that setup. I do have a writeup here:
    http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...ighlight=Thien

I'm still happy with it. I still get some dust in the filter but few or no chips.

I like the separator in front of my fan. That way big pieces won't hit the fan blades and it is easier to dump the barrel. I still have a plastic bag on the bottom of the DC that gets very little dust in it

Thank you. This is becoming clearer. I can see that each way has it's own features and benefits. And you could start out with either one and go from there without having invested too much.

Please have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday. And make sure you sneak away for some time in the shop too.