Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stinger II 48x48 in motion

Stinger II 48x48 in motion

After a several month wait, a large crate arrived last week containing my new Stinger II 48x48 CNC router from CAMaster. I believe this is the first 48x48 Stinger II off the line, although Keith Outten's 36 x 48 machine was the first one delivered.

Due to some outside commitments, it has taken a week to get things set up. So far, I am extremely happy with the build quality and performance of this machine. It appears to have been well worth the wait, and the guys at CAMaster (and on the forum) have been great so far getting me up to speed.

Today, I attached and surfaced a new spoilboard using a 1.25" end mill. I used Mick Martin's technique. Only a few minor hiccups as I got used to the Mach3 controls. I'm essentially a complete novice when it comes to CNC other than some prior experience using the carvewright. This is quite a different animal....

The table and gantry all appear to be extremely solid (and heavy - weighs almost 1000lb). I originally had some second thoughts about getting the larger model rather than the tabletop version but no longer. It looks a bit squeezed into my small shop but I've got things arranged in a functional way at this point. Having the extra cutting area is going to come in very handy, and it makes a killer assembly table when not in use...

I posted a short video showing the gantry movement and spoilboard surfacing operation, if anyone is curious: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJnqIPWYWfI.

Looking forward to making some productive chips very soon.

Richard
    Attached Images Attached Images

Richard,

Congratulation on your new machine I think you needed a bigger delivery truck . Do you have a laser installed in front of your spindle?. Nice U-Tube video and good quality.

Mick
    Hardware:
    CAMaster 508 ATC + Recoil
    2013 Trotec Speedy 100, 60 watt, rotary attachment, vector grid.
    Software:
    CoralDraw - Aspire 9 - EnRoute