Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting a Laser Shop

Starting a Laser Shop

Hello Everyone, First time poster here.

BACKGROUND

So I have been thinking of starting a small side business for laser engraving/cutting if I purchase a Laser Engraving machine. I am a full time mechnical engineer working in Santa Barbara CA. While working here, on several occasions I have needed laser engraving services, but have had to outsource them to Los Angeles due to a lack of local services. Thats where I think I could carve out a niche for myself and pull local customers.

I have good design experience in Sheet metal design work in 3D programs such as solidworks, Pro Engineer, Corel Draw, and AutoCAD. I can create flat patterns for cutting on a sheet metal laser, or in my case it would be a laser engraver cutting wood or acrylic designs. Basically what I am trying to say is that I can design my own assemblies and make them myself if I had a laser engraver/cutter.

Laser product design work would be part of my company. Sheet metal design work would be outsourced to be fabricated, while any small acrylic work or engraving could be done by me on my laser.

ADVICE ON PRODUCTS/SERVICES

Initially though, I think I would have to start doing Job shop work, and in the downtime developing my own products. From what I have heard, I want to stay as far away from awards and trophies as possible and focus in on other idea. Here are some of my ideas,

1. Laser Engraved Skateboard Decks- burning graphics or engraving the wood designs
    2. Cutting Boards, wood/Marble - burning graphics
    3. RC Car/Boat parts - lasercutting the wood, anodized aluminum parts
    4. Puzzles-local tourists might buy nice Santa Barbara picture puzzles
    5. Wine Glasses/stoppers laser engraved for the local wineries
    6. Picture Tiles - Not photos of people but just good vector graphic themes