Thread: Noobie Question - Exhaust System

Noobie Question - Exhaust System

Hello All,

Well I am new to lasering and I have a question. Do you have to have the exhaust on when engraving marble or granite?
    Thanks in advance.

Joe

Of course, as during engraving you have small but hard stone dust. This dust can left on moving parts and damage them due abrasion. My advice have powerful AIR ASSIST and EXHAUST if you work on stone.

Thanks, just what I thought. I have a 850cfm blower and air assist.
    Thanks for the reply

Joe

I'm going to disagree with the air assist - you don't want to blow that dust all around, you want to suck it out the exhaust. I always use exhaust but only really use air for cutting.

Gary

Blog Entries
    As with Gary... exhaust, yes, air assist, no.
    Hi-Tec Designs, LLC -- Owner (and self-proclaimed LED guru )

Trotec 80W Speedy 300 laser w/everything
    CAMaster Stinger CNC (25" x 36" x 5")
    USCutter 24" LaserPoint Vinyl Cutter
    Jet JWBS-18QT-3 18", 3HP bandsaw
    Robust Beauty 25"x52" wood lathe w/everything
    Jet BD-920W 9"x20" metal lathe
    Delta 18-900L 18" drill press

Flame Polisher (ooooh, FIRE!)
    Freeware: InkScape, Paint.NET, DoubleCAD XT
    Paidware: Wacom Intuos4 (Large), CorelDRAW X5

Ok.. Air assist no, got it. Good, to much power running in my shop as it is. I always use AA when cutting but wasn't 100% on the stone end. Thanks to all who responded.

Joe

I use air assist only for cutting. The exhaust pulls from the back and all the engraving is towards the front from there, so it's constantly sucking the dust away from the optics.

Sammamish, WA

Epilog Legend 24TT 45W, had a sign business for 17 years, now just doing laser work on the side.

"One only needs two tools in life: WD-40 to make things go, and duct tape to make them stop." G. Weilacher

"The handyman's secret weapon - Duct Tape" R. Green

Quote Originally Posted by Joe Pelonio View Post