Thread: Storm window wood choice

Storm window wood choice

My brother recently purchased a 100 year old house. He has a few of the original storm windows but would like some more made before the winter winds hit Columbus, OH. I told him I would make some frames (copying the existing) as a housewarming gift. He will paint them and mount the glass. Would a properly primed and painted poplar frame (lowest cost) stand up to winter weather (basement storage for the summer) or should a more outdoor friendly wood be chosen? What wood would you recommend?

Thanks,
    Matt

We're teaching making storm sashes at the moment and the preferred wood we're using is Sugar Pine. That said I think if you use good quality primer and an oil based finish which you maintain you'll get great service out of them.

Tim
    Tim Lawson
    Port Townsend School of Woodworking

Fir or Cypress would be my choice. I restore old homes for a living. Cypress is lower cost and will last longer than fir but either one is fine.
    Teaching grandchildren the hobby is rewarding. Most of the time

I wouldn't use poplar, it doesn't hold up very well in harsh conditions.

I like to use old growth pine. I can usually pick up some old 2 x4's or small beams at a local architectural salvage yard very cheap. Just make sure to check of imbedded metal.

Here's a great source of information regarding old houses, windows...

http://www.historichomeworks.com/hhw/index.htm

Trace
    Last edited by Trace Beard; 08-15-2010 at 6:14 PM. Reason: It's poplar not popular!

Quote Originally Posted by Trace Beard View Post
    I wouldn't use poplar, it doesn't hold up very well in harsh conditions.
    Poplar doesn't hold up in ANY conditions. It's the first thing to rot.
    I made a screen window for the garage out of cherry a few years ago. Holding up OK so far.
    Didn't seal or paint it, yet.
    Never, under any circumstances, consume a laxative and sleeping pill, on the same night