Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jamb saw recommendations?

Jamb saw recommendations?

This is off topic, but I'll bet someone here can offer advice. I'm shopping for a good powered jamb saw. Any recommendations? Below are 2 pics of the 2 different styles available. The Bosch is much less expensive but I'm not sure if it does as good a job (level/square) as the circular style saw. Thoughts?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Scott Vroom

I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.

I don't see this as being off topic, you're gonna cut wood with either of those things.

Are you doing this commercially or just a project or two? If the latter, how about a MultiMaster or one of the clones? That will be a more versatile tool. For commercial use, the circular saw blade will be quicker.

I'm not a professional flooring guy but am going to be installing eng wood flooring in 2 houses over the next year. Each job involves probably 15-20 jambs. I've been looking for an excuse to purchase the Fein Multi-Master. If this will give me a square/level jamb cut then maybe that's the way to go. I'm not so concerned about quicknes as I am about level/square. Nothing worse than crooked jamb bottoms on a beautiful wood floor.
    Scott Vroom

I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.

I used a Multimaster in a profesional capacity to undercut door jambs for years and loved it. I think that type of cut is the Multimasters strongest area. It's not super fast, but it's fast enough. I also had one of the Bosch saws you pictured, but sold it almost immediately after getting the Fein. I think the Multimaster or one of it's clones would be perfectly adequate for undercutting jambs on a couple of houses.

I never tried the circular type jamb saw, never felt the need.

Rick.