Thread: eBay Plane Buying Tips

eBay Plane Buying Tips

I promised this a few days ago, but I pulled a muscle in my back and have been laid up for a few days. (Didn't even know I had any muscles to speak of in my back, but then that's probably part of the problem.)

Anyhoo, what follows is my attempt to share what I've learned about buying user planes off of eBay. Note that I'm no expert, so I hope others will chime in with their own tips and tricks.

[1] Decide what you're looking for and set up a search for it. This can be a bit of a pain until you get it down to a system:
    First off, you can't just look at categories because there are two different categories for woodworking planes on eBay -- one in the collectibles area and another in the non-collectible tools area. Also, some sellers are clueless and put things in the weirdest places. (These often turn out to be the best deals, as those who go by categories miss these items completely.)

Second, if you search for "plane" you'll get a million irrelevant listings, so you have to narrow things down a bit. You'd be surprised, for example, just how many athletes there have been over the years named "Stanley" somethingerother. So you need to get around the memorabilia or you'll be looking at nothing but baseball cards. To do this you need to use the "not" function in eBay's (really pathetic) search engine. To use the "not" function, you simply put in a minus sign followed immediately, (no space between), by the word you do not want the computer to look for.

Here is an example of one of my searches, set up to look for a Stanley #4:
    stanley 4 plane -TOPPS -memorabilia -VHS -eagles -thermos -sweetheart -shoes -boots
    Third, you should really set a limit on how much you are willing to spend for the item, but I'll cover that in detail below.
    [2] After you have found a bunch of the plane you are looking for, go through the listings and see which ones look like they'd be good users: